COE BRASS DAM
Coe Brass Dam is located off Migeon Ave in Torrington. The property consists of approximately 12 acres. On October 1, 2008, the Dam, Gate House and pond were listed on the Connecticut Historic Registry.
The dam and gate house were built in 1904. The water retained by the dam was used at The American Brass Co for washing metal products. In 1983 the Heritage Land Preservation Trust acquired the Coe Dam property.
In 2010 the Heritage Land Preservation Trust started clearing the area, located on the east side of the pond, across from the gatehouse, to create a neighborhood park. Brush, trees and invasive plants were removed and replaced with perennials which were donated by local nurseries. The park has a picturesque grass lawn that borders the pond. Benches were built and gardens created for all to enjoy.
In 2016 on the West side of the pond, a local contractor, Winchester Woodworking LLC, performed extensive renovations on the gate house and rebuilt the spillway bridge. The repairs that were made to the bridge and gate house resulted in a great place to visit and witness a historic building.
The Heritage Land Preservation Trust continues to improve the Coe Brass Dam Park for future generations. The park has expanded into a beautiful wildlife sanctuary; home to ducks, geese, heron, egrets, mink, fox and much more.